All 4 Samosa Caucus Democratic Indian-American lawmakers re-elected


Raja Krishnamoorthi coined the informal term “samosa caucus” for Indian-American lawmakers


In one impressive show, all four Indian-American Democratic lawmakers – Dr. Ami Bera, Pramila Jayapal, Ro Khanna and Raja Krishnamoorthi – re-elected to the US House of Representatives.

For the first time in the history of the US presidential election, the Indo-American community has become a force to be reckoned with. Both the Democratic and Republican campaigns had taken various steps to attract the 1.8 million or so community members that have become critical electoral blocs in the battlefield states of Florida, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Texas.

The so-called “Samosa caucus”, which was coined by Raja Krishnamoorthi for the informal grouping of Indian-American legislators, could be extended by at least one more, since the doctor Dr. Hiral Tipirneni led against Republican incumbent David Schweikert of the Sixth Congressional District of Arizona when the latest reports came in.

If he were elected, Hiral Tipirneni, 52, would be the second Indian-American woman to ever be elected to the House of Representatives. Jayapal, 55, was the first Indian-American woman to be elected to the House of Representatives in 2016.

The “Samosa Caucus” currently consists of five Indian-American lawmakers, including the four members of the House of Representatives and Senator and Democratic Vice-Presidential candidate Kamala Harris (56).

Raja Krishnamoorthi, 47, easily defeated Preston Nelson, 30, of the Libertarian Party. When the last reports came in, it had accounted for almost 71 percent of the total votes counted.

The 44-year-old Ro Khanna defeated the Indian-American compatriot Ritesh Tandon (48) of the Republican Party by more than 50 percentage points. This was his third straight win from the 17th Congressional District of California.


Dr. Ami Bera, 55, the oldest member of the Samosa Caucus, won the Seventh Congressional District of California for the fifth consecutive year. By the time the last report came in, it had built an inaccessible 25 percentage point lead over its Republican rival, 65-year-old Buzz Patterson.

Meanwhile, Democratic candidate Sri Preston Kulkarni, 42, lost to Republican rival Troy Nehls, 52, a popular sheriff and military veteran who was supported by President Donald Trump in the 22nd Congressional District of Texas.

Republican Manga Anantatmula lost to Democratic incumbent Gerry Connolly in the 11th Congressional District of Virginia. Republican Nisha Sharma of the Republican Party also lost her first attempt at Congress. She was defeated by Mark DeSaulnier of the Democratic Party by more than 50 percentage points.

The House of Representatives is the lower house of the US Congress, the Senate the upper house.

(Except for the headline, this story was not edited by GossipMantri staff and published from a syndicated feed.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here