Australia vs India: KL Rahul Ready For “ Responsibility and Challenge ” as Vice Captain


India and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) wicket-keeper-batsman KL Rahul is confident to take on the ” responsibility and challenge ” as the deputy captain of the Indian white ball side for the Australian tour next month. Indian selectors announced the roster on Monday for ODIs, T20Is and Tests against Australia. Rahul was rewarded for his continued performance in the Indian Premier League (IPL), as he has scored the most points so far this season. He also led his team KXIP, and under his captain, Punjab is currently fourth in the points table and is looking for the playoffs.

“It’s a very happy and proud moment. I didn’t expect it, but I am very happy. I am ready for responsibility and challenge and I will try to do my best for my team,” the official KXIP website said Rahul as follows.

In 12 games so far, Rahul has collected 595 runs with an average of 59.50 including a century and five fifties.

“I’m looking forward to the upcoming tour, but the next 2-3 weeks before that are very important. The next 2-3 months will be very important. I’m thinking about one day at a time, not much ahead at the moment,” he added to.

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy.

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (Vice Captain & Wicket Keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.

India Test Team: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice Captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket Keeper), Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj.

India and Australia play three ODIs, three T20Is and four Tests against each other. The Test Series is part of the World Test Championship.


India and Australia are currently ranked first and second respectively in the World Cup standings.

The last time India toured Australia, the Virat Kohli-led team managed to win their first series of tests Down Under.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here