Chris Gayle withdraws from Lanka Premier League, Kandy Tuskers confirms


Chris Gayle has withdrawn from Lanka Premier League 2020.© BCCI / IPL

West Indian batsman Chris Gayle has withdrawn from the inaugural Lanka Premier League, Kandy Tuskers confirmed on Wednesday. Gayle would join former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, local icon Kusal Perera, Sri Lankan T20 specialists Kusal Mendis and Nuwan Pradeep, and England’s right arm Liam Plunkett, among others on the team. “We are sad to announce that Chris Gayle will not be playing for us in @ LPLT20_ this year,” Kandy Tuskers wrote on Twitter.


In the LPL, five franchisee teams named after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna will compete in 23 games.

Colombo will face Kandy in LPL’s opening match at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota on November 26.

There are doubleheaders every day until the semi-finals on December 13 and 14, 2020. The final will be played on December 16.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here