ICC Test Ranking: Cheteshwar Pujara climbs to sixth, Ajinkya Rahane moves to eighth


Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara has skipped Pakistani skipper Babar Azam to move up to sixth place in the latest ICC Test batting rankings released on Saturday. Ajinkya Rahane, the deputy of the Indian test, has also moved up one place. Often criticized for his slow approach, Pujara struck like a warrior in the fourth Test against Australia to pave the way for India’s historic victory at Australia’s fortress – The Gabba. He was hit to the body, fingers, and head, but did not flinch.

Pujara stood tall and braved the Australian bowlers who were looking for one chance to break into the Indian lower order. Rahane, on the other hand, played the captain’s knock in the second Test to see India home. Rahane, now in eighth place, hit 24 of 22 balls before Rishabh Pant knocked the match-winning knock in the fourth test.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli and New Zealand captain Kane Williamson have retained their fourth and first place in the final rankings, while English all-rounder Ben Stokes, who was equipped for Sri Lanka Tests, is two places to tenth position in the battle rankings failed.

In the bowling rankings, Indian bowlers Ravichandran Ashwin and Jasprit Bumrah have retained their eighth and ninth places, while English pacesetter James Anderson has risen one place to number six.

Last week, Anderson became the second fast bowler after the great Richard Hadlee who took 30 fifers in Test cricket. While the Englishman is the second pacemaker, he is sixth on the overall list. Anderson achieved the feat in the second test against Sri Lanka at the Galle International Stadium.


Earlier this week, Irish all-rounder Paul Stirling won eight slots in the ODI batting rankings to reach 20th place, scoring 285 runs against Afghanistan, including centuries in the second and third games.

Bangladesh spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz advanced nine places (ODI bowling rankings) and took fourth after seven wickets, including a four-for-25 hit in the second ODI against the West Indies, making him the player of the match prize won.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here