India vs Australia 2nd Test Live Cricket Score: Tim Paine wins Toss, chooses to hit against India in Melbourne


IND vs AUS Live: Ajinkya Rahane and Tim Paine will lead the two parties at MCG.© AFP

After losing the first Test against Australia in Adelaide, India is hoping to return to winning ways when they take on the hosts in the second Test match, at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday. The visitors will not have a permanent Captain Virat Kohli, who has been given paternity leave from the BCCI, and Test Deputy Captain Ajinkya Rahane will take over. In the first test of the four-game series, India was outclassed by a strong Australian bowling attack. The visitors suffered a dramatic collapse on Day 3 of the test, when they finished at 36 for nine, their lowest test total in history. They hope not to repeat the same hopeless feat now that Shubman Gill and Mohammed Siraj are ready to make their Test debut. Ravindra Jadeja and Rishabh Pant will also return to the starting XI, replacing Wriddhiman Saha, Prithvi Shaw and Mohammed Shami. Pacer Shami is injured and will miss the remaining games of the series. In the absence of Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Umesh Yadav will have to lead the tempo attack. India’s collapse during the first test has raised serious concern, especially as Kohli and Rohit Sharma were not on the team. The latter is currently within itself, and will be available after the second test. (LIVE SCORECARD)


2nd Test, Day 1 Live score updates between Australia (AUS) and India (IND) direct from Melbourne Cricket Ground″>″ itemprop=”url”/>

  • 4:36 AM (IST)


    India XI: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

    Australia XI: Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Tim Paine (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Mitch Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

  • 4:34 AM (IST)

    Australia wins the roll and chooses to bat

    Australian skipper Tim Paine has won the coin toss and chose to hit India.

  • 4:26 AM (IST)

  • 4:08 AM (IST)

    MCG to pay special tribute to Dean Jones

  • 4:03 AM (IST)

  • 3:59 AM (IST)

    Hello and welcome!

    Hello and welcome to our live coverage of Day 1 of the second test between Australia and India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

    Here is the preview of the match.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here