Lanka Premier League: Colombo Kings to close horns with Kandy Tuskers in tournament opener


The Lanka Premier League final will be played on December 16.© Twitter

Colombo Kings will face Kandy Tuskers in the opening game of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota on November 26, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced on Sunday. “The game will start at 7:30 PM after the opening ceremony scheduled from 3:30 PM. Matches played on November 27 and December 4 will start at 8:00 PM,” the SLC said in an official statement. There are doubleheaders every day until the semi-finals on December 13 and 14, 2020. The final will be played on December 16.


In the LPL, five franchisee teams named after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna will compete in 23 games.

Former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan has signed a contract to play in the LPL for the Kandy Tuskers franchise.

Kandy features West Indian legend Chris Gayle, local icon Kusal Perera, Sri Lankan T20 specialists Kusal Mendis and Nuwan Pradeep, and England’s right arm Liam Plunkett.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here