Lanka Premier League Players Auction will take place on October 1


Lanka Premier League will be played from November 14 to December 6.© Twitter

The Sri Lanka cricket board will auction some 150 players, including international stars, next month for the five teams that make up the virus-delayed Premier League, officials said Friday. Originally scheduled for August, the 23-game Lanka Premier League (LPL) will now be played from November 14 to December 6, with games in Dambulla, Kandy and Hambantota.

“The LPL player auction will take place on Oct. 1,” the board said in a statement.

Five teams, named after the Sri Lankan cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will participate.

Sri Lanka Cricket said 30 foreigners, including Chris Gayle, Darren Sammy, Darren Bravo, Shahid Afridi and Shakib Al Hasan, will play in the tournament.

“Each franchise can buy up to six international players,” the board said.

The five teams will consist of 30 international cricketers and 65 local players.

The LPL was scheduled to start on August 28, but was postponed after health authorities called for long-term quarantines for foreign players.


International cricket came to a halt in Sri Lanka on March 13. The visiting England team stopped on the second day of an exhibition game prior to their series of two tests as the coronavirus pandemic spread.

Since then, South Africa and Bangladesh have canceled scheduled trips through Sri Lanka.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here