New Zealand vs West Indies: Kane Williamson, Trent Boult rested for T20I series


New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and pace spearhead Trent Boult will miss the upcoming Twenty20 series against the West Indies to focus on test matches, selectors said Tuesday. However, the Black Caps have added an exciting element to the 13-man T20 team in the form of South African-born rookie Devon Conway, the standout domestic batsman of recent seasons. Coach Gary Stead said Williamson and Trent Boult sat out the three T20Is – starting in Auckland on November 27 – to keep them fresh for the two Tests against the West Indies in December.

“We had to make a decision about Kane and Trent to prioritize the Test matches given how important they are to our red ball team and the fact that they both played such a big part in the recent IPL while also kept injuries under control, ”he says. said.

Stead said the New Zealanders focused on the five-day format because they had a realistic prospect of making it to the World Test Championship final after taking an upset 2-0 series win over India earlier this year.

He was looking forward to seeing Conway on the international stage and predicted the 29-year-old would “soak up” the experience.

Conway moved to New Zealand in 2017 and has been on the attack ever since, winning back-to-back national player of the year awards in 2018 and 2019.

The lefthanded, who became eligible to play for New Zealand in August, replaces fellow power hitter Colin Munro, who plays in Australia’s Big Bash League.

Fast bowler Kyle Jamieson is the only other new cap in the T20 squad, while the Test side is the same that faced India in February.

New Zealand T20I squad:

Tim Southee (capt), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert, Ross Taylor


* Doug Bracewell, Scott Kuggeleijn and Mark Chapman replace Jamieson, Southee and Taylor in game three

To test: Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here