On this day in 2007, India recorded the world’s first T20 victory by beating Pakistan in a thrilling Bowl-Out


India beat Pakistan in a thrilling bowl-out after the game ended in a draw.© Twitter

It was on September 14, 2007, when India defeated Pakistan by bowlout in a group match of the inaugural World T20. The first edition of the tournament was played in South Africa and this group match between arch rivals India and Pakistan was played in Kingsmead, Durban. The match between both sides ended in a draw, and as a result, the match went into a bowl-out, beating India 3-0.

For India, Harbhajan Singh, Virender Sehwag and Robin Uthappa managed to hit the stumps, while Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul and Yasir Arafat all missed the stumps.

In the normal game, India led by MS Dhoni was the first to hit, placing a total of 141/9 in the allotted twenty overs.

Robin Uthappa and MS Dhoni played with the bat after playing 50 and 33 strokes respectively. For Pakistan, Mohammad Asif took four wickets.

Pakistan’s pursuit never got off to a good start and the squad was at 87/5. Misbah-ul-Haq played a 53-run knockout, but was exhausted in the final and as a result, the match ended in a draw.

For India, Irfan Pathan claimed two wickets. This was MS Dhoni’s first time leading India and he eventually sided with the World T20 trophy in 2007.


India again closed Pakistan’s horns in the final, winning by five runs in the final played in the Wanderers, Johannesburg.

In the 2007 edition of the World T20, Yuvraj Singh hit six sixes in an over-off Stuart Broad in India’s super-six match against England.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here