Pakistan is dropping Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir for upcoming T20Is against New Zealand


Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced a roster of 35 players for the upcoming tour of New Zealand from which the national men’s roster will be selected. Babar Azam has been appointed captain of Pakistan in all forms. His vice captain in Tests will be Mohammad Rizwan, while Shadab will be the vice captain in T20Is. Pakistan has dropped Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir from their team. Head coach Misbah-ul-Haq said the team has decided to drop Malik and Amir because they now want to invest in young people.

“There have been three major omissions from the side that toured England. Asad Shafiq has been left out for lack of form after scoring 510 runs in his last 15 innings, including a total of 67 runs in England. Asad is an experienced batsman and I am confident that he will use this time to work harder on his game in the domestic first-class matches so that, like Sarfaraz Ahmed, he can reclaim his form and compete again for the upcoming Tests against South Africa and Zimbabwe, ” Misbah said in an official PCB release.

“Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir are not part of the cue ball matches as for this tour we have chosen to invest, develop and focus on the promising and emerging players likely to be available for all formats. for Pakistan, ”he added.

The players, along with 20-member support staff, will depart for Lincoln on November 23, where they will spend the mandatory 14-day quarantine period.

The Pakistan men’s team will play three T20Is on December 18, 20 and 22, and the ICC World Test Championship matches will be held in Mount Maunganui and Christchurch on December 26-30 and January 3-7, respectively.

Apart from the 35 players involved in pre-series intra-squad matches as part of their preparations, players from the Pakistan national team who are not involved in international matches against New Zealand will be available for selection for the Shaheens matches New Zealand A.

This also means that Test players not involved with the T20Is in the first half of the series against New Zealand will be available for selection for Shaheens, who are expected to play four-day matches against New Zealand A during that period.

“The New Zealand games are critical to us as we aim to improve our T20I rankings and also gain valuable points in the ICC World Test Championship. Against this backdrop and taking into account recent player performances, we have the best available players selected, ”said Pakistani head coach Misbah-ul-Haq in an official release.

When the national team is involved in the ICC World Test Championship matches against New Zealand, players from the men’s national team who are not part of those matches will be available for selection for the Shaheens, who are expected to be involved in 20-over matches against New Zealand A during those days.

The selection of 35 players is:

Openers: Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood and Zeeshan Malik.

Middle Order Hitters: Babar Azam (Captain), Azhar Ali, Danish Aziz, Fawad Alam, Haider Ali, Haris Sohail, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imran Butt, Khushdil Shah and Mohammad Hafeez.

Wicketkeepers: Mohammad Rizwan (Vice Captain, Tests), Rohail Nazir and Sarfaraz Ahmed.


Spinners: Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan (Deputy Captain, T20Is), Usman Qadir, Yasir Shah and Zafar Gohar.

Fast bowlers: Amad Butt, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Musa, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Khan and Wahab Riaz.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here