Quarantine Rules Delay Lanka Premier League


5 teams – named after the cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna – will participate.© Twitter

Sri Lanka’s cricket Premier League tournament has been postponed a second time due to strict quarantine regulations for foreign players, the game’s national governing body said Wednesday. The 23-match Lanka Premier League (LPL), which was originally scheduled to start in August, was moved to November 14, but has now been delayed by another week, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said. It said the shift was to “ensure that the participating players have enough time to meet quarantine requirements under government health regulations.” Sri Lanka pushed for a two-week quarantine for every visitor to the country, forcing the Bangladesh national team to call off the three-Test tour of the island that was set to begin next month.

The October-November tests were designed to mark the two nations’ return to international cricket after a months-long lockdown that halted professional sports worldwide.

SLC said the auction of players for the LPL, scheduled to take place Thursday, had also been postponed to October 9.

Five teams – named after the Sri Lankan cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna – will participate in the tournament.

SLC said 30 foreigners including Chris Gayle, Darren Sammy, Darren Bravo, Shahid Afridi and Shakib Al Hasan would be available for the LPL.


International cricket came to a halt in Sri Lanka on March 13. The visiting England team stopped on the second day of an exhibition game prior to their series of two tests as the coronavirus pandemic spread.

Since then, South Africa has also canceled a scheduled tour of Sri Lanka.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here