The best bowling spells in the Indian Premier League


The Indian Premier League, like T20 cricket in general, usually brings back memories of power-hitting batsmen playing quickfire hits amid the roar of the crowd. However, the tournament was also graced by some fantastic bowling performances that left fans equally amazed. While some turned the game the side of their team as the opposition seemingly raced to victory, some batsmen dominated from the turn, didn’t give them a penny, and sealed the win for their team with ease.

Let’s take a look at some of the best bowling spells in IPL history:

Alzarri Joseph 6-12 (SunRisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians, 2019)

An impressive bowling performance saw SunRisers Hyderabad limit the Mumbai Indians to just 136/7, a total that would be considered difficult to defend. A 22-year-old Alzarri Joseph made his IPL debut, taking on a devastating opening pair from Johnny Bairstow and the tournament’s leading points scorer at the time: David Warner. When he came in for his first over, SRH had just lost Bairstow, but it was Warner on strike. From his first ball in the tournament, Joseph rattled the stumps, with a little help from an inner rim. In his next time, he sent Vijay Shankar away.

But it was his spell at the end that sealed the victory for Mumbai, as he took four wickets in two overs to pack Hyderabad for 96, and at the trial only recorded the third ever 6-wicket pull in the history of the tournament. .

Adam Zampa 6-19 (Rising Pune Supergiants vs SunRisers Hyderabad, 2016)

SunRisers Hyderabad went slow but stable when Adam Zampa decided to turn the game upside down. The Australian leg spinner got six wickets in three overs at the end to limit the number of SunRisers to 137. However, an inspired bowling performance from SRH itself meant the Pune-based franchise fell four runs short and lost the match.

Anil Kumble 5-5 (Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals, 2009)

Vinay Kumar and Jesse Ryder defended 133 to give RCB a good start, bringing Rajasthan back to 5-2. All-rounders Yusuf Pathan and Ravindra Jadeja were just starting to build a partnership, when Anil Kumble fired them for consecutive deliveries. Shane Warne and Munaf Patel fell in his next over, and Kumble closed the win when he dismissed Kamran Khan on the first episode of his fourth over, helping Rajasthan for just 58.

Amit Mishra 5-15 (Delhi Daredevils vs Deccan Chargers, 2008)

First, Delhi Daredevils beat a total of 194 with half centuries of Gautam Gambhir and Shikhar Dhawan. While Amit Mishra stunted Deccan Chargers ‘top order with Shahid Afridi and Herschelle Gibbs’ wickets, they fought their way to 180 in 19 overs. As the Chargers needed 15 to win the last over, Delhi transferred Mishra to the over, delivering three wickets on the first three deliveries of the over as the Daredevils won by 12 runs.


Rohit Sharma 4-6 (Deccan Chargers vs Mumbai Indians, 2009)

A surprising entry in the list is Rohit Sharma. While he rarely picks up the ball now, there was a time when the India opener gave up a few overs from off-spin. The current Mumbai captain defended 145 and threw a spanner in the works for his future team. In the 16th, Sharma came in to bowl and dismissed Abhishek Nayar and Harbhajan Singh on the last two deliveries. In the first ball of his next over, he cleared the dangerous JP Duminy to complete an unlikely hat-trick. One delivery later, he sent Saurabh Tiwary packing and Mumbai could only post 126/8 as the Adam Gilchrist-led team recorded a 19-point victory.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here