Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Mumbai ride on Shreyas Iyer’s Ton to beat Maharashtra by six Wickets


Mumbai rode on skipper Shreyas Iyer’s unbeaten 103 to beat Maharashtra by six wickets in their Elite Group D match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Tuesday. This was Mumbai’s second straight win after beating Delhi in the long opener. Maharashtra chose to hit first, placing 279/9, with centuries of Yash Nahar (119) and Azim Kazi (104) despite veteran Mumbai pacesetter Dhawal Kulkarni (5/44) running through their top tier. But it was Iyer, who anchored the chase to Mumbai and saw them come home in 47.2 overs.

Maharashtra skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad (19) was unable to convert his start and was locked up for the wicket by Kulkarni. Kulkarni then wreaked havoc when he fired Naushad Shaikh (0), experiencing Kedar Jadhav (5) and Ankit Bawane (0) in quick succession while Maharashtra was reeling at 38/4 in 8.5 overs.

Nahar and number six batsman Kazi had other plans, however, and not only got the team out of trouble, but also put them in a decent position with their 214 run score for the fifth wicket.

Nahar hit seven fours and sixes maximums in his 133 balls, while Kazi played the perfect second fiddle as the duo took on the Mumbai bowlers led by Indian speedster Shardul Thakur (1/57), who played the game after he had been released from India. plow.

Kazi hammered 12 boundaries and two sixes in his innings with 118 balls.

When Nahar was exhausted by Shams Mulani, Maharashtra was ready at 6/264 and was able to add just 15 runs at the time.

In the chase of 280, Mumbai openers Yashasvi Jaiswal (40) and Prithvi Shaw (34) threw 67 for the first wicket.

Iyer, who came in at three, was in his elements, hammered nine boundaries and one six, in his undefeated knock and after Jaiswal was killed, he found skilled partners in Suryakumar Yadav (29), Shivam Dube (47) as they played their roles to perfection.

Dube took the game away from Maharashtra, with his hitting, five fours and a six, and took Mumbai on the eve of a win. The formalities were fulfilled by Iyer alongside Sarfaraz Khan (15 not out).

Short scores:

Maharashtra 279/9 (Yash Nahar 119, Azim Kazi 104; Dhawal Kulkarni 5/44, Shardul Thakur 1/57) lost to Mumbai 280/4 (Shreyas Iyer 103 not out, Shivam Dube 47; Satyajeet Bachhav 3/59) with six wickets.


Delhi 354/4 (Nitish Rana 137, Dhruv Shorey 132; Sagar Trivedi 2/66) defeated Pondicherry 175 (S Suresh Kumar 42; Kulwant Khejroliya 4/32, Pradeep Sangwan 2/27) by 179 runs.

Rajasthan 199 (Mahipal Lomror 67, Arjit Gupta 45; Rishi Dhawan 6/27, Vaibhav Arora 1/24) lost to Himachal Pradesh 201/6 (Rishi Dhawan 73 not out, Prashant Chopra 39; A Singh 2/46, Ravi Bishnoi 2 / 60) with four wickets.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here