Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Vishnu Solanki hits Ton as Baroda and beats Goa by five Wickets


Vishnu Solanki’s stroke century and a beautiful show from the bowlers saw Baroda’s five-wicket win over Goa in an Elite Group A match, as they kicked off their Vijay Hazare Trophy campaign on a winning note on Saturday. Invited to hit the Kholdvad Gymkhana grounds, Baroda Goa pooled for 263 and chased the target with nine balls over, riding Solanki’s 108 of 132 balls and half centuries of skipper Krunal Pandya (71 of 77 balls) and opener Smit Patel (58 of 64 balls). For Goa, Snehal Kauthankar scored at the top with a 100-ball 81, hammering six fours and two sixes, after losing openers Ishaan Gadekar (7) and Aditya Kaushik (7) early.

The Baroda bowlers led by pacer Atit Sheth (3/50) and left arm spinner Krunal Pandya (3/62) continued to make in-ways even when Kauthankar was denied a steady partner. Skipper Amit Verma (24), wicket-keeper KD Eknath (43), Suyash Prabhudessai (39), Darshan Misal (20) and Lakshay Garg (23) failed to turn their starts into big scores. Sheth and Krunal were well complimented by pacemaker Lukman Meriwala (2/43), who was recently picked up by Delhi Capitals and all-rounder Babashafi Pathan (1/43).

Baroda lost opener Kedar Devdhar (0) early, but Smit Patel and Solanki collected the innings with their 95-run score for the second wicket to get them back into the game. Taking on the Goa bowlers with utmost ease, Solanki hammered 12 fours and a six, finding an able ally in Skipper Krunal as they sewed a crucial 138-run stance for the third wicket.

Baroda lost Solanki and Krunal in quick succession, but Ninad Rathwa (10 not out) and Abhimanyusingh Rajput (6 not out) took them home in 48.3 overs.

Short scores: Goa 263 all out (Snehal Kauthankar 81; KD Eknath 43; Atit Sheth 3/50; Krunal Pandya 3/62) lost to Baroda 264/5 (Vishnu Solanki 108, Krunal Pandya 71; Amit Verma 2-39, Amulya Pandrekar 1- 35) with five wickets.


At CK Pithwala Ground: Hyderabad 349/5 (Tilak Verma 156 not out, Tanmay Agarwal 86; RA Dey 2/45, AS Sarkar 1/42) defeated Tripura 236 (Milind Kumar 67, Bikram Kumar Das 65; CV Milind 5/43, B Sandeep 2 / 37) with 113 runs.

At Lalbhai Contractor Stadium: Chhattisgarh 231 all out (Shashank Chandrakar 92, Ashutosh Singh 47; Arzan Nagwaswalla 6/54, Chintan Gaja 2/50) lost to Gujarat 232/7 (Dhruv Raval 38, BH Merai 38; Veer Pratap Singh 2/38) with three wickets .

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here