WBBL: Sydney Thunder Thrash Melbourne Stars To Clinch Women’s Big Bash League Title


Fine bowling helped Sydney Thunder to an upset seven-wicket victory over Melbourne Stars.© Twitter

Fine bowling helped Sydney Thunder to an upset seven-wicket victory over Meg Lanning’s Melbourne Stars, and claim the Big Bash League women’s title on Saturday. Rachael Haynes’s team narrowed the Stars to just 86 for nine of their 20 overs after losing the bat flip at North Sydney Oval, chasing the total easily with over six overs. England star Heather Knight (26 not out) and Haynes (21 not out) sent them home after fast bowlers Shabnim Ismail (2-12) and Sammy-Jo Johnson (2-11) shattered the Stars’ top spot .


It is the Thunder’s second title in the tournament’s sixth season, having won its first championship in 2016.

“It’s an incredible feeling. It’s a great effort from everyone at the club,” said Haynes.

“I want to thank all the international players and staff who went through quarantine to get the tournament going.”

The eight-team tournament was played entirely in Sydney for five weeks due to the closure of the Covid-19 borders and quarantine requirements.

All players, coaches and support staff were forced to reside at a hub in the city’s Olympic Park.

Australian captain Lanning failed to shoot with the bat and had only thirteen of them, with England’s top scorer Katherine Brunt Melbourne Stars at 22.


“It was a challenging season and a lot of fun. Congratulations to Rach (Haynes) and the Thunder team, you absolutely deserve your win,” said Lanning.

The 10th season of the Big Bash League for men kicks off on December 10 with multi-city matches as state and territory borders reopen after Covid-19 was largely brought under control.

Topics mentioned in this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here